Birth

I am going to attempt to write a poem for everyday of this month… we shall see how that goes..here is the first one to go with the prompt that was provided.. something about birth or a new arrival … I have a hard time follow directions. 

Image

 

 

 

 

I was born once

 

To starving lovers,

 

Ignorant dreamers

 

 American believers.

 

I was born to a world of striving and heaving.

 

Constant complaining

 

Sibling rivalry

 

And abundant affection,

 

Of a sort….

 

 

 

I was born once..

 

To a hard working poor man

 

A rich working poor man.

 

Born under the middle class ceiling

 

Crying for meaning.

 

Trying to be more then anyone, believing.

 

I was born once to the world

 

And Stamped like cattle.

 

Prodded  to perform

 

Expectd to conform

 

Clipped in the ear and told to listen

 

Slapped on the hand

 

When I thought of Sin’n.

 

I was born once to the real world

 

Ignored the pleas to follow rules.

 

I was born once and I was born a fool,

 

But I don’t have to die one…..

 

27 thoughts on “Birth”

  1. Your words always leave me in awe, wishing mine flowed more readily to the page. I have also challenged myself to write a poem a day (soon to be posted somewhere) and have encouraged my students to play along with me. Thanks again for another beautiful poem.

  2. ‘Prodded to perform
    Expected to conform’

    damn thats a good line. i’ve read this a few times, out loud to myself.
    i like the way the words taste,

    if that makes sense.

    -park

Leave a Reply

